At Yeoman Park Academy we engage and support the development of children through curriculum pathways and curriculum areas. You can find further details of these below. If you do have any questions, we invite you to get in touch.

Curriculum pathways

Our curriculum pathways are the equivalent of year groups. There are three curriculum pathways, each of which describe a different type of learner.

Pre-formal learners

Our pre-formal learners are children and young people who may have profound and complex needs, a severe learning difficulty, a medical condition, sensory impairment, or physical disability.

These children and young people will be learning at an early developmental stage, and will require a high level of adult support to meet their educational and personal care needs.

Semi-formal learners

Our semi-formal learners are children and young people who have a significant intellectual or cognitive impairment and may have difficulties with sensory processing, communication and self-help skills.

These learners are likely to need support to access all areas of the curriculum.

Formal learners

Our formal learners access a range of National Curriculum subjects, modified for their developmental level. Their teaching sessions are more ‘formal’ and are taught in a structured way drawing upon their speaking, listening and communication skills. These learners may have moderate learning difficulties, ASD, ADHD and emotional difficulties.

Curriculum areas

Our curriculum areas are the equivalent of subjects – these are split into five areas.

  • Communication
  • Creativity
  • Development
  • Experience
  • Thinking

To find out more about our curriculum, click a stage below.

Early Years

0014 DSCF1225


0155 DSCF8557

Secondary and post-16

0081 DSCF8311

Further information

If you would like any further information on our curriculum please contact us.